DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

your business is following ME | John 21.22-23

DSG_the passion_BTHURSDAY
This Week’s Reading:  John 21.15-25

REFLECT

Jesus said to him, “If it is my will that he remain until I come, what is that to you? You follow me!” So the saying spread abroad among the brothers that this disciple was not to die; yet Jesus did not say to him that he was not to die, but, “If it is my will that he remain until I come, what is that to you?” John 21.22-23  |  ESV

Jesus doesn’t stop or look back as he answers: “If I want him to hang around here until whenever I show again, how is that any of your concern? Your business is following me.”

And so the word spread, mouth to mouth, generation to generation, that this disciple would never die. But that’s not what Jesus said at all. He didn’t say, “He will never die.” What he said was, “If I want him to hang around until whenever I show again, how is that any of your business?”   MAV (Mike’s Amplified Version)

 

RECEIVE

Your turn now.

Reread the entire text for this week. Actually, do more than that. Sit with the entire Gospel of John. You don’t have to reread the whole thing. Just sit with it open before you, soaking in the memories of your journey through it these past months.

This is the point.

It all comes down to this here and now: “You follow me.”

Now sit with it in silence.
Open your imagination.
What is he asking you to do with all of this?

How is he calling you to follow him right now, on this shore, at this moment.

Listen.
And then let him lead you in your response to his voice.

 

RELATE

“You follow me.” What does this look like for you in this season of your life?

 

RESPOND

Lord, free me to be about your business, and not that of others – or even merely my own! Free me to follow you in ways I have only dreamed of heretofore. Through your unceasing mercies.

Doctor-Who-Listen2

Leave a Reply

