DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

the story of His love | Hosea 3.1-5

anchor prayer seriesFRIDAY
Reflection 15 of 15

 

REFLECT

Then God ordered me, “Start all over: Love your wife again,
your wife who’s in bed with her latest boyfriend, your
cheating wife.
Love her the way I, God, love the Israelite people,
even as they flirt and party with every god that takes their fancy.”

I did it. I paid good money to get her back.
It cost me the price of a slave.
Then I told her, “From now on you’re living with me.
No more whoring, no more sleeping around.
You’re living with me and I’m living with you.”

The people of Israel are going to live a long time
stripped of security and protection,
without religion and comfort,
godless and prayerless.
But in time they’ll come back, these Israelites,
come back looking for their God and their David-King.
They’ll come back chastened to reverence
before God and his good gifts, ready for the End of the story of his love.   Hosea 3:1-5 | MSG

“Love isn’t finding a perfect person. It’s seeing an imperfect person perfectly.” – Sam Keen

 

RECEIVEtumblr_mzdc2pOOJe1s89mq8o1_500

One more time. Get started by reflecting on Hosea’s story – if time permits, read Hosea chapters 1-3 at least. Perhaps look ahead and read the Relate question, then see what you hear, see, sense. The pencil (or pen) can be the best eye, so try writing it down. Try it. Listen. And Write…

 

RELATE

The story of Hosea and Gomer is not pretty. It’s a scandalous, painful mess. What parallels have you experienced in your own life? How have you been taught to love in and through your own messy relationships and situations?

 

RESPOND

Living God, I invite you to take hold of my life today for your purposes.
Please fill me with the Living Water of your Holy Spirit that as you pour me out:

my motives may be rooted in your Love,
my decisions may be rooted in your Wisdom,
and my actions may be rooted in your Courage.

AMEN.

1 cor 13 d

Leave a Reply

