DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

what a splendid expression of love! | Ruth 3.8-13

anchor prayer seriesTHURSDAY
Reflection 14 of 15

 

REFLECT

In the middle of the night the man was suddenly startled and sat up. Surprise! This woman asleep at his feet! He said, “And who are you?”

She said, “I am Ruth, your maiden; take me under your protecting wing. You’re my close relative, you know, in the circle of covenant redeemers—you do have the right to marry me.”

He said, “God bless you, my dear daughter! What a splendid expression of love! And when you could have had your pick of any of the young men around. And now, my dear daughter, don’t you worry about a thing; I’ll do all you could want or ask. Everybody in town knows what a courageous woman you are—a real prize! You’re right, I am a close relative to you, but there is one even closer than I am. So stay the rest of the night. In the morning, if he wants to exercise his customary rights and responsibilities as the closest covenant redeemer, he’ll have his chance; but if he isn’t interested, as God lives, I’ll do it. Now go back to sleep until morning.” Ruth 3:8-13 | MSG

“Love is a better teacher than duty.” – Albert Einstein

 

RECEIVEtumblr_mzdc2pOOJe1s89mq8o1_500

Your turn again.. Get started by reflecting on the story of Ruth – read the rest of the story (Ruth 2-4) if time permits. Perhaps look ahead and read the Relate question, then see what you hear, see, sense. The pencil (or pen) can be the best eye, so try writing it down. Try it. Listen. And Write…

 

RELATE

Describe the “splendid expression of love” you see in Ruth towards Boaz. In Boaz towards Ruth. What are your takeaways from this story?

 

RESPOND

Living God, I invite you to take hold of my life today for your purposes.
Please fill me with the Living Water of your Holy Spirit that as you pour me out:

my motives may be rooted in your Love,
my decisions may be rooted in your Wisdom,
and my actions may be rooted in your Courage.

Amen.

1 cor 13 d

Leave a Reply

