DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

if I perish, I perish | Esther 4:10-16

anchor prayer seriesWEDNESDAY
Reflection 8 of 15

 

REFLECT

Then Esther spoke to Hathach and commanded him to go to Mordecai and say, “All the king’s servants and the people of the king’s provinces know that if any man or woman goes to the king inside the inner court without being called, there is but one law—to be put to death, except the one to whom the king holds out the golden scepter so that he may live. But as for me, I have not been called to come in to the king these thirty days.”

 

And they told Mordecai what Esther had said. Then Mordecai told them to reply to Esther, “Do not think to yourself that in the king’s palace you will escape any more than all the other Jews. For if you keep silent at this time, relief and deliverance will rise for the Jews from another place, but you and your father’s house will perish. And who knows whether you have not come to the kingdom for such a time as this?” Then Esther told them to reply to Mordecai, “Go, gather all the Jews to be found in Susa, and hold a fast on my behalf, and do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my young women will also fast as you do. Then I will go to the king, though it is against the law, and if I perish, I perish.”

Esther 4:10-16 |  ESV

“Go back?” he thought. “No good at all! Go sideways? Impossible! Go forward? Only thing to do! On we go!” So up he got, and trotted along with his little sword held in front of him and one hand feeling the wall, and his heart all of a patter and a pitter.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit

 

RECEIVEtumblr_mzdc2pOOJe1s89mq8o1_500

Yep. Your turn. Take the time to read the entire story of Esther if time permits. Pause at each sighting of courage in the story. Then sit quietly and listen. Write down anything you see about courage, about areas in your life where you sense a need for courage. Let the words tumble out. This is just for you and God to share. Don’t hold back. Write.

 

RELATE

How does Esther’s story speak to you? When has courage challenged you to defy public opinion or even to break the law? What did you do? What happened?

 

RESPOND

Living God, I invite you to take hold of my life today for your purposes.
Please fill me with the Living Water of your Holy Spirit that as you pour me out:

my motives may be rooted in your Love,
my decisions may be rooted in your Wisdom,
and my actions may be rooted in your Courage.

Amen.

courage

Leave a Reply

