DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

kind of container God can use | 2 Timothy 2.19-26

Screen Shot 2014-07-20 at 10.02.24 AMFRIDAY
Reflection 5 of 5

REFLECT

In a well-furnished kitchen there are not only crystal goblets and silver platters, but waste cans and compost buckets—some containers used to serve fine meals, others to take out the garbage. Become the kind of container God can use to present any and every kind of gift to his guests for their blessing.

Run away from infantile indulgence. Run after mature righteousness—faith, love, peace—joining those who are in honest and serious prayer before God. Refuse to get involved in inane discussions; they always end up in fights. God’s servant must not be argumentative, but a gentle listener and a teacher who keeps cool, working firmly but patiently with those who refuse to obey. You never know how or when God might sober them up with a change of heart and a turning to the truth, enabling them to escape the Devil’s trap, where they are caught and held captive, forced to run his errands.

2 Timothy 2:19-26 | MSG

 

RECEIVE

In 1902, Adelaide A. Pollard, a Bible teacher and hymn writer, was hoping to go to Africa as a missionary but found herself unable to raise the needed funds to make the journey. Greatly discouraged, she attended a prayer service one evening and as she sat there, she overheard an elderly woman say “It really doesn’t matter what you do with us, Lord, just have your own way with our lives.” The elderly woman inspired Pollard and she contemplated the story of the potter from Jeremiah 18:3 and, upon her return home that evening, wrote all four stanzas before retiring for the night.

Five years later George Stebbins wrote a tune titled “Adelaide” to accompany the text.

As we close out this week of reflections on the Potter’s hands, reflect on the lyrics to this classic hymn:

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Thou art the Potter, I am the clay.
Mold me and make me after Thy will,
While I am waiting, yielded and still.

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Search me and try me, Master, today!
Whiter than snow, Lord, wash me just now,
As in Thy presence humbly I bow.

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Wounded and weary, help me, I pray!
Power, all power, surely is Thine!
Touch me and heal me, Savior divine.

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Hold o’er my being absolute sway!
Fill with Thy Spirit ’till all shall see
Christ only, always, living in me.

 

RELATE

Picture yourself as a container/vessel in God’s kingdom kitchen. What do you see?
Fine china?
Disposable cup?
Simple mug?
Salt shaker?
Dish rack?
Compost bucket?
Or what?

How do you see yourself? Why?

 

RESPOND

Divine Potter, have your way in me; hold sway over me; mold me and make me after your will into the vessel that you would choose, whether for honor or dishonor, for high use, low use, no use. Deliver me from my more noble visions of grandeur, and make me the kind of container that You can use. Through Christ.

Leave a Reply

