DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

the point | John 17.24-26

DSG_upper roomFRIDAY
Reflection 200 of 240

 

REFLECT

Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world. O righteous Father, even though the world does not know you, I know you, and these know that you have sent me. I made known to them your name, and I will continue to make it known, that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them.” John 17:24-26 | ESV

 

“Abba, you’ve entrusted them to me, and my deepest desire is that wherever I might be, they would be right there with me too – so that they might have a front row seat to the Divine beauty you imparted to me before the world even came into existence. Abba, Just and Honest Abba! The wide world doesn’t have a clue about you, but I know you – and these men know without question that I’m on your business here. I have shown them who you are, and that’s exactly what I’ll keep doing so that your all-consuming love for me may be deeply embedded in them, even as I am deeply embedded in them.” MAV (Mike’s Amplified Version)

 

RECEIVE

All-consuming love deeply embedded within us. Abba in us, we in Abba. This is the point. Not just a point or a huge side benefit. The point. This is why he came. This is the Father’s business. This is his business. “God is not a God of confusion, but of peace.” Mere humanity fights and strives, one-ups and divides – and too often religion just intensifies the storm. Few things can get a fight started faster than someone playing the religion card. Followers of Jesus calm such storms as they exhale the divine breath of his love. It’s what they bring into the room.

It’s the reality they bear within.
It’s who they are.

They don’t need to quote 1 Corinthians 13.
They are 1 Corinthians 13.

If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love,
I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate.

If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day,
and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps,
but I don’t love, I’m nothing.

If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr,
but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere.

So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.

 

RELATE

What breached and broken relationship is God nudging you to put back on your radar? How can you pursue peace and demonstrate his love?

 

RESPOND

Lord, encode me, embed me with your unstoppable, irresistible love that is rooted deep in your own oneness of heart. Let me be the salt and light of your love in this dark and tasteless world, that the world may know. Through Christ.

prayer_1

Leave a Reply

