DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

compass | John 14.25-26

DSG_upper roomTHURSDAY
Reflection 184 of 240

 

REFLECT

“These things I have spoken to you while I am still with you. But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.  John 14:25-26 | ESV

 

“This is what I have to say while I’m still right here with you, but one day the lid will be blown off all this, that day when on my behalf Abba sends the Helper/Encourager/Supporter/Ally/Advocate aka the Holy Spirit – oh yes, he will teach you everything, nothing held back; and he’ll remind you of every word I’ve ever said to you, too.” MAV (Mike’s Amplified Version)

 

RECEIVE

“A teacher is two jobs. Fill young minds with knowledge, yes. But more important, give those minds a compass so that that knowledge doesn’t go to waste. Now, I don’t know what you’re doing with the knowledge, Mr. Holland, but as a compass, you’re stuck.”

I love this quote from Mr. Holland’s Opus.

Principal Jacobs had observed to a distracted Mr. Holland that she had “never seen a teacher sprint for the parking lot after last period with more speed and enthusiasm than his students.” Mr. Holland protests, “I get here on time every morning, don’t I? I’m doing my job as best I can.” It’s just that he had an incomplete job description. Education isn’t about the downloading of information to be regurgitated on tests.

To educate is quite literally to “lead or draw out” rather than “to cram in.” It is leading the student out of ignorance, out of previous levels of knowledge and understanding into a new set or level of experiences and awareness. And whenever we step out the door, it’s a good thing to have a compass – which is precisely what are promised.

“How gracious he will be when you cry for help! As soon as he hears, he will answer you. Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teachers will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them. Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it,’” says Isaiah.

“I will put my laws in their hearts and write them on their minds…no more will a man teach his neighbor or a man his brother, saying ‘Know the Lord!’ for they all will know me from the least to the greatest,” promises Jeremiah.

Standing on the other side of promise, John writes at about the same time he pens his gospel account, “You have an anointing from the Holy One and you know all things…you don’t need anyone to teach you, but as the anointing itself teaches you concerning all things and is true and is not a lie, and just as it taught you, so you are abiding in him.”

The Book points to an ever present Help in time of need – the Teacher who provides the compass with the life choices and daily decisions we each face. He didn’t sprint to the parking lot after the textbook was delivered. He holds nothing back and he’s not stuck.

Rather he repeatedly gets us unstuck.

He sits with us as we read,
prodding,
provoking,
stirring,
challenging,
encouraging us,
and then walks alongside us as we actually put our feet on the path.

 

RELATE

What is your personal compass as you make your way through the day? What part does the Holy Spirit have in this? What does this look like for you?

 

RESPOND

Spirit of God, be my compass today; be the voice behind me saying, “This is the way, walk in it”; be the inner anointing inundating my soul, reorienting my life, directing my steps. Through Jesus.

the_upper_room_by_radojavor-d4vcn8p

Leave a Reply

