DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

imagine the possibilities | John 14.12-14

DSG_upper roomFRIDAY
Reflection 180 of 240

 

REFLECT

“Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.
John 14:12-14 | ESV

 

“Double underline what I’m saying to you: you let faith in me settle deep within you and from that foundation will flow a stream of divine expression and working that will rival – no, that will easily surpass! – anything you’ve seen me do – all because I am going to my Abba. Imagine the possibilities! Ask it, I’ll do it as you take your stand in who I am. Why? So the Son can put a spotlight on the beauty of his Abba. Ask me! Try me! Anything! For no other reason than because of who I am, I’ll do it!” MAV

 

RECEIVE

We started the week with “mansions” and conclude it with prayer that appears to have guaranteed results. Both can lead us to startling, towering misconceptions that result in more religious noise than divine song.

So easy to reduce prayer to the correct change for some sort of cosmic vending machine from which will tumble what we want – the exit from this bad scenario, this cancer, this joblessness, this broken marriage, this lost dream, or the entrance to this promised land, this aspiration, this plan, this proposal.

If only the change is correct.
Just enough faith.
With the right words.
By the right people.
In the right place.

And so prayer becomes fraught with care as we count our religious coin and then bang on the machine when it withholds our selection – sometimes tantalizingly so, hung up just out of reach.
What a marvel to be freed from the cosmic vending machine, from the counting of our religious change – and to be released into a universe of limitless divine possibilities because we are moving in connective harmony with our Abba! What wonder to wake to when we are freed from any notion that prayer is getting God to hear our voice and is instead the deepening experience of hearing his.

Imagine the possibilities of walking hand in hand with Abba, experiencing the stress and mess of life through his eyes, feeling his touch.

Imagine the possibilities when prayer is no longer an exercise in trying to get God to move, but the natural reflex of one who is moving with her Abba in each breath, each sigh, each laugh, each groan.

Imagine the possibilities…

 

RELATE

To what extent has prayer seemed like a “cosmic vending machine” to you? What do you think is the key to prayer becoming more than this in our daily lives?

 

RESPOND

Lord, teach me to pray! Lead me into a richer, more meaningful conversation with you which is less about me getting you to hear me and more about me seeing the possibilities opening wide before me as I rest in your arms. Through Christ.

the_upper_room_by_radojavor-d4vcn8p

Leave a Reply

