DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

hyperlinked | John 14.8-11

DSG_upper roomTHURSDAY
Reflection 179 of 240

REFLECT

Philip said to him, “Lord, show us the Father, and it is enough for us.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells in me does his works. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else believe on account of the works themselves. John 14:8-11 | ESV

 

Philip couldn’t contain himself anymore. “Lord, show us the Father, that’s all we want.”

Jesus looked back at him with weary, incredulous eyes, “All this time, me with you, and you still don’t have a clue as to who I am, Philip? How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Don’t you have faith with eyes to see that I am totally hyperlinked to the Father and the Father is hyperlinked to me? When you hear my voice it’s not me at all; I’m not making this up, writing my own dialogue as we go. Abba in me is doing His thing. All the time. I’m telling you, count on this with every fiber in your being: I in Abba, Abba in Me. And if that seems like too big of a theological pill to swallow and sort, just look at the evidence right before your eyes – everything I’ve been doing – and let faith settle in.”  MAV

 

RECEIVE

In computing, a hyperlink is a reference to data that the reader can directly follow either by clicking or by hovering or that is followed automatically.

So says Wikipedia in its entry for “hyperlink.”

Click on Jesus and you’re clicking on the Father; click on the Father and you’re clicking on Jesus. It’s not an option. It’s just the way it is.

To walk the Jesus Way is to walk the Abba Way.

Attempt to split the two and we do more than split the atom.

We split reality.
We split ourselves.

How hard we make things! If there is one consistent flaw I demonstrate on the dance floor, it’s that I make things too hard. I work too hard, step too large, turn too much, put far too much “English” on this spin or that reverse. “You’re working too hard, Mike,” is the constant refrain from my instructors.

So did Philip.
So do we all.

“Show us the Father, and that will be enough.”

He was lying through his teeth, of course. Each new glimpse only beggars for more.

“Show us the Father,” he says, as he stares into Abba’s eyes in the face of Jesus.

Here is the greatest irony.

Having the Father’s face right before your eyes but not recognizing him; hearing Abba’s voice but having no clue that that’s what you’re tuned in to; watching the very movement of God and seeing only unremarkable lines and squiggles.

Methinks this was not just Philip’s problem…

 

RELATE

In what unexpected places and faces might you see and experience the very face of God today? What can help you not to miss it?

 

RESPOND

Lord, help me to stopping working so hard – and then to turn around and miss you right in front of my face! Help me to see your Abba eyes and heart in the wide world today. Through Jesus.

the_upper_room_by_radojavor-d4vcn8p

Leave a Reply

