DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

fully synched | John 12:48-50

Gospel of John headerFRIDAY
Reflection 165 of 240

REFLECT

48 The one who rejects me and does not receive my words has a judge; the word that I have spoken will judge him on the last day. 49 For I have not spoken on my own authority, but the Father who sent me has himself given me a commandment—what to say and what to speak. 50 And I know that his commandment is eternal life. What I say, therefore, I say as the Father has told me.” John 12:48-50 | ESV

You shut yourself off from that, rejecting me and washing your hands of my message and meaning – I’m not going to break through your shuttered hearts and lives to blame you for that – the message of light already shining through those shutters says all that needs to be said at the great wrap-up of all time. Not a word I’ve said has sprung from my own willful agenda; the only cue cards here are the ones being held by my Abba – the one who sent me on this mission to begin with. He’s the One prompting me on what to say and how to say it. His every prompt is a prompt leading to ever-deepening, unstoppable, inexhaustible life– of that I have not the slightest doubt. We are fully synched. Abba speaks, I speak.

Period.

MAV (Mike’s Amplified Version)

 

RECEIVE

This has been another repeated theme through the words of Christ in John: the unique Father-Son intimacies.

They are fully synched.

Jesus wasn’t a rogue agent. There was no loose cannon dynamic, the Son going all grace-happy contrary to the stern Father’s true desires.

“I and the Father are one.”

And while Jesus is presented to us as the “one and only Son in the bosom of the Father, full of grace and truth,” he is also revealed as the “firstborn among many brothers,” as the “last Adam,” the new prototype of a redeemed humanity. The deep wound of creation is finally healed, the rift between the divine and human bridged, genuine fellowship between God and humanity realized.

No more hiding in the garden.
No more hastily assembled fig leaf aprons.
Sons and daughters of God walking in harmony;
humanity in sync with God,
with each other,
with creation –
and within ourselves.

What part of this don’t we want?

Jesus epitomizes it, embodies it, and through his bloody work on that cursed tree, he transmits it; he plants it within us so we can begin to experience it now.

This is what he models for us.
This is what he offers.

The question remaining with us:

Will we look up from our old world religious and political games long enough to see and embrace the new day and his new way?

 

RELATE

How “in sync” do you feel with God and Christ? What do you find enhances this connection? What hinders it?

 

RESPOND
God, lead me into these Father-Son intimacies. Led me into a life that is in sync with yours. Deconstruct the barriers that would bar me from experiencing more of you, more of your heart. Through Jesus.

evidence that demands a verdict

Leave a Reply

