DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

ears you have dug for me | John 10.25-30

Gospel of John headerTUESDAY
Reflection 127 of 240

REFLECT
25 Jesus answered them, “I told you, and you do not believe. The works that I do in my Father’s name bear witness about me, 26 but you do not believe because you are not among my sheep. 27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.” John 10.25-30 | ESV

Jesus coolly replied, “I already did – and you wouldn’t hear a word of it. I showed you my credentials: every deed I’ve done with the Father’s blessing and authority speaks plainly enough, but you aren’t going for it – not a bit. Why? Because you’re not one of mine – you’re not my sheep. My sheep recognize my voice, and I recognize them right back, and there they are, following right on my heels – and talk about green pastures, their pasture is life to the full forever! And never in a million years will they lose that – no prowling predator will snatch them away while under my care! And it isn’t just my care. Every last one of them is a gift from my Father who is unequaled, unrivaled. No one messes with my Abba – and no one can lay a finger on one of his sheep while under his care. To talk about me is to talk about him. We are one.”  MAV (Mike’s Amplified Version)

RECEIVE
“Sacrifice and offering thou didst not desire; mine ears hast thou opened: burnt offering and sin offering hast thou not required.”

It’s Psalm 40:6.

And it’s our most desperately needed divine surgery because it’s what must happen before anything else can.

We need God to dig us ears.

That’s the literal rendering of the Psalmist’s word.
It’s not that he has ears that are just plugged with wax.
They were non-existent.
Big, ear-less, blockhead.

But then “ears you have dug for me.” The word means to dig, dig through, excavate, as in digging a well or a pit. That’s about what we need, isn’t it? We need ears dug for us. This is an operation we can’t perform on ourselves. We need such self-surgery like another hole in our head.
We can only wait for it.
Receive it.

And as you contemplate that, receive this reading from Psalm 40:

I waited and waited and waited for God.
    At last he looked; finally he listened.
He lifted me out of the ditch,
pulled me from deep mud.
He stood me up on a solid rock
to make sure I wouldn’t slip.
He taught me how to sing the latest God-song,
a praise-song to our God.
More and more people are seeing this:
they enter the mystery,
abandoning themselves to God.

Blessed are you who give yourselves over to God,
turn your backs on the world’s “sure thing,”
ignore what the world worships;
The world’s a huge stockpile
of God-wonders and God-thoughts.
Nothing and no one
comes close to you!
I start talking about you, telling what I know,
and quickly run out of words.
Neither numbers nor words
account for you.

Doing something for you, bringing something to you—
that’s not what you’re after.
Being religious, acting pious—
that’s not what you’re asking for.
You’ve opened my ears
so I can listen.

So I answered, “I’m coming.
I read in your letter what you wrote about me,
And I’m coming to the party
you’re throwing for me.”
That’s when God’s Word entered my life,
became part of my very being.

RELATE
What would you identify as your greatest challenge in hearing the voice of God? In what ways do you feel that deep need to have God “dig you ears”?

RESPOND
Yes, Lord. Do this. Dig us ears so we can listen. It’s the one thing that sheep have going for them. It’s the one thing we desperately need to have going for us. Dig me ears. Through Jesus.

Listen (2)

One response

  1. Reblogged this on VERSICAL RHYMES.

    March 26, 2014 at 4:48 am

Leave a Reply

