DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

the good shepherd | John 10.11-13

Gospel of John headerWEDNESDAY
Reflection 123 of 240

REFLECT
I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd, who does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. He flees because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep.  John 10.11-13 | ESV

“I’m more than the door – I’m the good shepherd himself. Definition: good shepherd? You can always tell who he is because he’s the one laying his neck on the line for the sheep. Now, when it’s just someone who’s been hired to do the job and not the shepherd – someone more interested in punching a time clock than taking out a threat to the flock because the sheep aren’t his. When a hired hand sees a nasty threat to the flock coming his way, what does he do? He hightails it to save his own skin leaving the sheep to eat his dust and fend for themselves. And the predator pounces and scatters them everywhere. And who can blame the hired hand? He’s there for the money, not the sheep.”  MAV (Mike’s Amplified Version)

RECEIVE
So here, at the center of this week’s reflections is the classic text.
Psalm 23.
We read it frequently at funerals and over graves.
Let’s read it over our life today.
Line by line, breathe it in.
Soak your soul in it.

God, my shepherd!
    I don’t need a thing.
You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
    you find me quiet pools to drink from.
True to your word,
    you let me catch my breath
    and send me in the right direction.

Even when the way goes through
    Death Valley,
I’m not afraid
    when you walk at my side.
Your trusty shepherd’s crook
    makes me feel secure.

You serve me a six-course dinner
    right in front of my enemies.
You revive my drooping head;
    my cup brims with blessing.

Your beauty and love chase after me
    every day of my life.
I’m back home in the house of God
    for the rest of my life.

RELATE
Which aspect of this depiction of the Good Shepherd most resonates with your spirit? Which do you sense you most need today? Why?

RESPOND
Good Shepherd, remind me today of how much I have where I am; give me eyes to see lush meadows in what others can only view as barren wilderness. Thank you for letting me catch my breath.
Now send me off in the right direction. Through Jesus.

bekaa_shepherd

3 responses

  1. Amy M.

    Both of those passages remind me of how much God loves us although we could just read them in a religious way at a funeral or in church.

    March 19, 2014 at 3:03 pm

  2. Pingback: the good shepherd | John 10.11-13 | VERSICAL RHYMES

Leave a Reply

