DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

I went. I washed. I watched. | John 9.8-12

Gospel of John headerFRIDAY
Reflection 115 of 240

Reflect
The neighbors and those who had seen him before as a beggar were saying, “Is this not the man who used to sit and beg?” Some said, “It is he.” Others said, “No, but he is like him.” He kept saying, “I am the man.” So they said to him, “Then how were your eyes opened?” He answered, “The man called Jesus made mud and anointed my eyes and said to me, ‘Go to Siloam and wash.’ So I went and washed and received my sight.” They said to him, “Where is he?” He said, “I do not know.”
John 9.8-12 | ESV

His fellow beggars and panhandlers couldn’t believe their eyes – or his! Everyone who laid eyes on this now former blind beggar keep muttering to each other, “This isn’t the man who sat here and begged day in and day out, is it? It can’t be!” Others, dumbfounded, began blurting out, “Wait a minute, this is him!” Others retorted, “No way! This guy just looks like him!” Amidst all of their rapidly escalating debate the blind man just stood there saying, incredulously, “No it is me! I am that guy!” Then they started their own little inquiry: “How is that possible? How were your eyes opened? How do you now see!?” Still not believing what had just happened, the now former blind man slowed himself down and told the simple tale: “This guy named Jesus made mud, smeared it all over these eyes of mine, and then said to me, simply, ‘Go to Mission Springs. Rinse.’ And that’s what I did. I went, I washed, I watched.”

Everyone standing around him asked him, “So where is this guy?”

And he said he didn’t have a clue.

He’d never laid eyes on him yet.   MAV (Mike’s Amplified Version)

Receive
Veni. Vidi. Vici.

Caesar said it returning from the Roman conquest of Gaul, if memory serves (pronounced “way-knee, wee-dee, wee-chee” or some such).

I heard it’s echo in the now formerly born-blind man’s report upon returning from the rinse.

I came. I washed. I see.

What blessed relief after the torment of the divinely imposed mud that only seemed to further irritate him and his condition. Now the muddy methods of the Savior are forgotten.

Sight!

Sight changes everything.
Now I see!
I see!

How readily I would have endured the muddy rough handling of my eyes for a month of Saturdays now that I, by the simple rinsing, can see.

Ah, but sometimes it is a month of Saturdays.
And every other day of the week.
Sometimes it’s a lifetime of muddy anointing, as we wait for the rinse.
Some of us wait right into the other side of life’s horizon.
Some of us are blessed here.
Some sooner.
Some later.
But the rinsing comes, one way or another, sooner or later, for us all.

So it does.
So it will.

“That’s why we live with such good cheer. You won’t see us drooping our heads or dragging our feet! Cramped conditions here don’t get us down. They only remind us of the spacious living conditions ahead. It’s what we trust in but don’t yet see that keeps us going. Do you suppose a few ruts in the road or rocks in the path are going to stop us? When the time comes, we’ll be plenty ready to exchange exile for homecoming.”

Yes, Paul’s words channeled through Peterson in the Message hit the mark.

Conditions here are at times cramped, ruts and rocks are usually in plentiful supply.
Awe, but the rinse is coming.
And on the other side of it we will stand with one united chorus:

We came, we washed, we see!

And that will just be for the first 10,000 years…

Relate
|In what ways have your eyes already been rinsed? What future rinsing are you waiting for? Are you awaiting it with dropping head and dragging feet or with good cheer? Why?

Respond
Light of the world, along with that mud rubbed in my eyes, smear trust all over my inmost parts – trust to wait for the rinse, for the washing with water by the word, to wait for the blessed release:
Go wash. Give me a head lifted and feet ready to run to the rinse. Through Christ.

healing_of_the_blind_man

Leave a Reply

