DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

unhinged | John 8.25-30

Gospel of John headerFRIDAY
Reflection 105 of 240

REFLECT
25 So they said to him, “Who are you?” Jesus said to them, “Just what I have been telling you from the beginning. 26 I have much to say about you and much to judge, but he who sent me is true, and I declare to the world what I have heard from him.” 27 They did not understand that he had been speaking to them about the Father. 28 So Jesus said to them, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am he, and that I do nothing on my own authority, but speak just as the Father taught me. 29 And he who sent me is with me. He has not left me alone, for I always do the things that are pleasing to him.” 30 As he was saying these things, many believed in him. John 8.25-30 | ESV

They shot back, “Why don’t you just tell us right now in plain Aramaic WHO ARE YOU???” He shot right back, “What from the start I have been saying! Oy! So much I could say about you, so many judgments I could pass on you if that were my game! But what does it matter? The One who sent me is true through and through, and what passes from his mouth to my ear is what I will speak to you and to this world of yours.” And yes, they were clueless. No idea what or who he was talking about – his Abba. So Jesus, again, picking up the thread, wove a new picture for them: “Whenever you lift up the Son of Man – the ultimate Human Being – then you’ll finally get who I AM, and realize that I’m not the one calling the shots, carrying out my own game plan, but that I’m only carrying out and speaking out what my Abba gives me to say and do. And the One who sent me is with me, and he’s with me to stay, because what I do always meets with his big ‘thumbs up.’ Way up. Always.”

And while many were snarkily shaking their heads as he said all this, many began to experience a turn in themselves. A turn towards faith. A turn towards trust. In him.  MAV (Mike’s Amplified Version)

RECEIVE
“Those who honor me, I will honor; those who trifle with me I’ll turn into a mere trifle.” (1 Samuel 2:30)

Two ways.
Two paths.
Two outcomes.
Intensifying, deepening over time.

We are ever turning through life. The only turning some of us experience is like that of a door on its hinges – there’s a lot of movement, but it’s only back and forth as we remain affixed to our spot. But sometimes, we suddenly find ourselves shaking off the hinge and then turning into faith and trust.

Turning into grace.
Turning into life.

Too many remain glued to assumptions and presumptions, hinged to a squinty-eyed worldview, to binding religious or irreligious ruts with their predictable, endlessly repeated locked-in-place movement.

We so desperately need to become unhinged.
To have the bolt of our assumptions popped out, freeing us to turn in new, unpredictable ways.

This of course terrifies us.

Hinges are comforting.
We get used to the view, first this way then that repeated ad infinitem, ad nauseum.
There is security.
Definition.
A comforting sameness and repetition.

Jesus being “lifted up” in his death would pop that bolt for many, unhinging them, while finally, fatally cementing it for others. Both groups are in evidence in this text, even as both are evident all around us each day. Everyone is experiencing movement. The question is, is that movement merely movement in place, turning now this way, then that – or has the hinge been popped turning us out into faith and its unpredictable, free-flowing movements?

Do we even know the difference?

RELATE
Where in your life are you finding predictability a good thing? Where are you dying to be unhinged – to experience a fresh turning of faith?

RESPOND
Light of the world, may I been unhinged today in the brilliance of your light, leaving my affixed, familiar spot and venturing out into unpredictable God-adventures. Through Christ.

turn on the light

Leave a Reply

