DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

it’s quite simple | Micah 6.6-8

Jesus CreedFRIDAY
Reflection 5 of 5

REFLECT

“With what shall I come before the Lord,
and bow myself before God on high?
Shall I come before him with burnt offerings,
with calves a year old?
Will the Lord be pleased with thousands of rams,
with ten thousands of rivers of oil?
Shall I give my firstborn for my transgression,
the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?”
He has told you, O man, what is good;
and what does the Lord require of you
but to do justice, and to love kindness,
and to walk humbly with your God?  Micah 6:6-8 | ESV

But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do,
what God is looking for in men and women.
It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor,
be compassionate and loyal in your love,
And don’t take yourself too seriously—
take God seriously. Micah 6:8 | MSG

RECEIVE
Love God. Love Others.

The Great Commandment.
The Jesus Creed.

It is the spiritual center around which everything else revolves;
it is the root from which everything that matters grows;
it is the earth, wind and fire of the kingdom of God;
and it is beautifully captured again in the ancient words of an eighth century prophet in Israel.

Micah asks the question that nags all of us, if we are honest about it: “Just what is it that God wants from me!?”

Micah proposes thousands of sacrificial victims offered in my stead, and we might add rivers of offered oil, billows of incense, countless hours of faithful church attendance, mountains of tithes and offerings, stacks of Bibles dutifully read and recited, myriads of fervent prayers uttered.

Just what will it take to please him?
What does he want from me?

But it’s something much more simple, and much deeper.

Love God.
Love others.

Or as Micah puts it according to the Message version: “Do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, and don’t take yourself too seriously—take God seriously.”

Yes, the first alternatives are actually more doable, we sigh. Your “simple” request will require everything; it will require deep, transforming change, deep within this stony heart.

To which Jesus says with a knowing smile, “Precisely.”

RELATE
In what ways have you taken yourself too seriously? How are you being challenged to take God more seriously? What might this look like?

RESPOND
Abba, show me what it means to truly love today in the places I go, the people I meet, the situations I encounter. Empower me today for a life of love; to take myself less seriously, and to take you and others more seriously. Through Jesus.

Jesus Creed_1

Leave a Reply

