DSG | Discipleship Study Guide | Vineyard Boise

Daily Reflection: No Rotten Tomatoes | Gal. 4:12-13

ea_series_galatians_header_2WEDNESDAY
Reflection 43 of 70

Reflect

Here I am, off that stage, free of the religious routine, like you once were before the knife-wielding religionists showed up with their auditions – just like I used to do back in my religious days. No! Don’t go there! Become like me, for I became like you! Please! I beg you, my brothers! When I first showed up with Good News of Life beyond a religious stage, you didn’t throw any rotten tomatoes at me – even though my performance was pathetic because my body was wracked with a debilitating illness. I know you were tempted to.  Galatians 4:12-13 |MAV

Receive

Pied Piper indeed. I bet Paul couldn’t have come anywhere near to even saying, “Peter piped a peck of pickled peppers.” He was off key. He was off his game. We can only guess at why. Some connect his “illness” during this initial “stage appearance” before the Galatians with the “thorn in the flesh” he talks about later (see 2 Corinthians 12:7-9). We don’t know. What we do know is that Paul felt stupid. He looked bad and sounded worse. But the Galatians heard the song. And instead of hurling rotten tomatoes they followed him right off that religious stage. Not that we should try to be bad speakers and preachers (that comes more or less naturally for most of us anyway), but it is a good thing when the “product” sells even when the sales pitch stinks. Now there’s something worth buying into. To the Corinthians Paul said, “When I came to you I did not use excellency of speech or of wisdom…I determined to know nothing among you but Christ and him crucified” (see 1 Corinthians 2:1-5). Paul had been a religious showman with the best of them, but he stepped off that stage and into Life. It was Paul the former stage actor who sang that broken tune to the Galatians. And he aches for them to climb down off the stage and join him on the streets of Life. Once again.

Relate

How and when did you first hear the Savior sing? In what ways are you needing to hear that song again?

Respond

Lord, no matter how flawed the performance or how frail the voice, let me hear your song in the people and circumstances around me today. Keep drawing me into Life.

Additional Reading
The whole text this week is Galatians 4:8-20. Read it daily in it’s entirety from a few different translations if possible. Also, as suggested in Sunday’s teaching, you can read and reflect each day this week on our new identity in Christ as set forth by the apostle Paul in Ephesians 1 (particularly verses 3-14).

For all of this week’s resources on Galatians including this week’s DG video on Galatians, check out the Vineyard website.

bible-reading-guy-782907

Leave a Reply

